Doctor Who: The Newbies Guide

Timewyrm: Genesys

This is the first novel in the New Adventures series of novels, published by Virgin.

Where does this fit?

This happens at some point after Survival (the final story of the Classic Series).

The fourth Doctor's cameo is from The Invasion of Time.

Other Guides to this Story


The Seventh Doctor is short, dark-haired, and speaks with a slight scottish accent. He thinks of himself as "Time's Champion", deliberately seeking out situations to "put right". He usually has a plan, and is willing to manipulate everyone - including his companions - to achieve it.

The fourth Doctor is tall, has curly brown hair, a distinctive smile, a floppy hat, and a ridiculously long scarf. He comes across as otherworldly and bohemian.


Ace was a teenaged delinquent in 1980s Perivale. She invented her own homemade explosive called nitro-nine, and prefers her nickname of Ace to her real name of Dorothy. She she was swept away from Perivale by a timestorm, ending up on Iceworld in the far future. Ace met the Seventh Doctor in Dragonfire and became his companion. During her travels with the Doctor she has grown up considerably. However, she has been hurt by the way the Doctor has manipulated her. In particular, she was hurt by the way he tricked her in The Curse of Fenric and the way he forced her to face the evil she sensed in a house her 13 year old self had burnt down in Ghost Light. She calls the Doctor "Professor".

Recurring and Historical Characters


In The Invasion of Time the fourth Doctor spent some time inside the Matrix on Gallifrey. The Matrix is a large computer system and virtual world which holds many Time Lord secrets.

In The Time Monster we saw a Time Ram - a catastrophic event caused by two TARDISes trying to occupy the same space. In that story we also met the Chronovores, creatures that live and feed in the Time Vortex.

In Ghost Light the Doctor met a Neanderthal called Nimrod, who had been preserved by an alien being called Light, and so survived into at least the 19th Century.

The book leads into the rest of the Timewyrm series. So read Timewyrm: Exodus, Timewyrm: Apocalypse, and Timewyrm: Revelation after this book to discover the fate of the Timewyrm.


Feel free to Contact Us if you have any questions about the site, or any technical problems with it. You may also want to check out our Privacy Policy. There is also an About Us page, if you really want to read one.

Add new comment


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.